Advanced Concepts for Intelligent Vision Systems Dec. 13-16, 2010 Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia Acivs 2010 is a conference focusing on techniques for building adaptive, intelligent, safe and secure imaging systems. Acivs 2010 consists of four days of lecture sessions, both regular (25 mns) and invited presentations, poster sessions and a special session on Distributed Camera Systems. The proceedings of Acivs 2010 will be published by Springer Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series and are listed in the ISI proceedings index. Conference topics include (but are not limited to) * Vision systems, including multi-camera systems * Image and Video Processing (linear/non-linear filtering and enhancement, restoration, segmentation, wavelets and multiresolution, Markovian techniques, color processing, modeling, analysis, interpolation and spatial transforms, motion, fractals and multifractals, structure from motion, information geometry) * Pattern Analysis (shape analysis, data and image fusion, pattern matching, neural nets, learning, grammatical techniques) and Content-Based Image Retrieval * Remote Sensing (techniques for filtering, enhancing, compressing, displaying and analyzing optical, infrared, radar, multi- and hyperspectral airborne and spaceborne images) * Still Image and Video Coding and Transmission (still image/video coding, model-based coding, synthetic/natural hybrid coding, quality metrics, image and video protection, image and video databases, image search and sorting, video indexing, multimedia applications) * System Architecture and Performance Evaluation (implementation of algorithms, GPU implementation, benchmarking, evaluation criteria, algorithmic evaluation) Both classical research papers and application papers are welcome. Special session on distributed camera systems Organizers: Richard Kleihorst, VITO NV & Ghent University, Belgium; Abbas Bigdeli, NICTA, Australia. IMPORTANT DEADLINES May 1, 2010 Full paper submission July 15, 2010 Notification of acceptance September 7, 2010 Camera-ready papers due October 1, 2010 Early registration deadline Dec. 13-16, 2010 Acivs 2010 STEERING COMMITTEE Jacques Blanc-Talon, DGA, Bagneux, France. Wilfried Philips, Ghent University - IBBT, Ghent, Belgium. Dan Popescu, CSIRO, Sydney, Australia. Paul Scheunders, University of Antwerp, Wilrijk, Belgium. ORGANISING COMMITTEE Don Bone, Cannon Information Systems Research, Sydney, Australia. Russell Connally, Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia. Dan Popescu, CSIRO, Sydney, Australia. PROGRAM COMMITTEE Hamid Aghajan, Stanford University, Stanford, USA. Marc Antonini, Universit=E9 de Nice Sophia Antipolis, Nice, France. Laure Blanc-Feraud, INRIA, Sophia-Antipolis, France. Philippe Bolon, University of Savoie, Annecy, France. Salah Bourennane, Ecole Centrale de Marseille, Marseille, France. Dumitru Burdescu, University of Craiova, Craiova, Romania. Umberto Castellani, Universit=E0 degli Studi di Verona, Verona, Italy. Jocelyn Chanussot, INPG, Grenoble, France. Pamela Cosman, University of California at San Diego, La Jolla, USA. Yves D'Asseler, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium. Jennifer Davidson, Iowa State University, Ames, USA. Arturo de la Escalera Hueso, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain. Touradj Ebrahimi, Ecole Polytechnique F=E9d=E9rale de Lausanne, SW. Christine Fernandez-Maloigne, Universit=E9 de Poitiers, France. Don Fraser, Australian Defence Force Academy, Canberra, Australia. Georgy Gimel'farb, The University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand. Markku Hauta-Kasari, University of Eastern Finland, Joensuu, Finland. Mark Hedley, CSIRO ICT Centre, Sydney, Australia. Dimitris Iakovidis, University of Athens, Athens, Greece. Arto Kaarna, Lappeenranta University of Technology, Lappeenranta, Finland= =2E Andrzej Kasinski, Poznan University of Technology, Poznan, Poland. Richard Kleihorst, VITO, Belgium. Nikos Komodakis, University of Crete, Crete. Murat Kunt, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland. Hideo Kuroda, FPT University, Hanoi, Vietnam. Olivier Laligant, IUT Le Creusot, Le Creusot, France. Kenneth Lam, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China. Yue Li, CSIRO ICT Centre, Marsfield, Australia. Brian Lovell, University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia. Guojun Lu, Monash University, Caulfield East, Australia. Anthony Maeder, University of Western Sydney, Sydney, Australia. Xavier Maldague, Universit=E9 de Laval, Qu=E9bec, Canada. Joseph Mariani, Universit=E9 Paris VI, Paris XI, Orsay, France. G=E9rard Medioni, USC/IRIS, Los Angeles, USA. Fabrice M=E9riaudeau, IUT Le Creusot, Le Creusot, France. Alfred Mertins, Universit=E4t zu L=FCbeck, Luebeck, Germany. Jean Meunier, Universit=E9 de Montr=E9al, Montr=E9al, Canada. Amar Mitiche, INRS, Montr=E9al, Canada. Rafael Molina, Universidad de Granada, Granada, Spain. Adrian Munteanu, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Brussels, Belgium. Frank Nielsen, Ecole Polytechnique - Sony CSL, Palaiseau, France. Fernando Pereira, Instituto Superior T=E9cnico, Lisboa, Portugal. Massimo Piccardi, University of Technology Sydney, Sydney, Australia. Aleksandra Pizurica, Ghent University - IBBT, Ghent, Belgium. William Puech, LIRMM, Montpellier, France. Gianni Ramponi, Trieste University, Trieste, Italy. Paolo Remagnino, Faculty of Technology, Kingston University, Surrey, UK. Luis Salgado A. de Sotomayor, Universidad Polit=E9cnica de Madrid, SPAIN Guna Seetharaman, AFRL, Rome, USA. Andrzej Sluzek, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, Singapore. Changming Sun, CSIRO, CMIS, Sydney, Australia. Hugues Talbot, ESIEE, Noisy-le-Grand, France. Frederic Truchetet, Universit=E9 de Bourgogne, Le Creusot, France. Peter Veelaert, University College Ghent, Ghent, Belgium. Gerald Zauner, Fachhochschule Ober=F6sterreich, Wels, Austria. Pavel Zemcik, Brno University of Technology, Brno, Czech Republic. Djemel Ziou, Sherbrooke University, Sherbrooke, Canada.