===== CALL FOR PAPERS ===== The IEEE International Symposium on Multimedia (ISM2010)(http://ISM2010.asia.edu.tw/) The Splendor Taichung (http://www.splendor?taichung.com.tw/) Taichung, Taiwan, December 13-15, 2010 Sponsors IEEE Computer Society Asia University, Taiwan IEEE Taipei Chapter The IEEE International Symposium on Multimedia (ISM2010) is an international forum for researchers to exchange information regarding advances in the state-of-the-art and practice of multimedia computing, as well as to identify the emerging research topics and define the future of multimedia computing. The technical program of ISM2010 will consist of invited talks, paper presentations, and panel discussions. Submissions of high quality papers describing mature results or on?going work are invited. Topics for submission include but are not limited to: * Multimedia systems, architecture, and applications * Multimedia networking and QoS * Peer?to?peer multimedia systems and streaming * Pervasive and interactive multimedia systems including mobile systems, pervasive gaming, and digital TV * Multimedia meta?modeling techniques and operating systems * Architecture specification languages * Software development using multimedia techniques * Multimedia signal processing including audio, video, image processing, and coding * Visualization * Virtual Reality * Multimedia file systems, databases, and retrieval * Multimedia collaboration * Rich media enabled E?commerce * Computational intelligence including neural networks, fuzzy logic, and genetic algorithms * Intelligent agents for multimedia content creation, distribution, and analysis * Internet telephony and hypermedia technologies and systems * Multimedia security including digital watermark and encryption * Mobile Multimedia Systems and Services * Multimodal Interaction, including Human Factors * Multimodal User Interfaces: Design, Engineering, Modality?Abstractions, etc. * Multimedia tools including authoring, analyzing, editing, and browsing There will be a Best Paper Award and a Best Student Paper Award competition. The award winners will be announced at the conference banquet. Official certificates will be given to winners. SUBMISSIONS The written and spoken language of ISM2010 is English. Authors should submit an 8 page technical paper manuscript in double-column IEEE format including the authors' names and affiliations, and a short abstract electronically, following the submission guidelines available on the ISM2010 web page. Only online electronic submission will be accepted. All papers should be in Adobe portable document format (PDF). The Conference Proceedings will be published by the IEEE Computer Society Press and be available for online access via IEEEXplore. A number of the papers presented at the conference will be selected for possible publications in international journals. ISM2010 will include a few workshops or special sessions dedicated to focused interest areas. Submissions of proposals on workshops or special sessions of emerging areas are invited. Submissions of proposals on panels are also encouraged. Panel summary articles may also be included in the conference proceedings. Important Dates April 20, 2010 Submission of workshop proposals May 1, 2010 Notification of workshop acceptances July 12, 2010 Submission of main conference/workshop papers July 12, 2010 Submission of panel proposals August 20, 2010 Notification of panel acceptances August 20, 2010 Notification of acceptance of main conference/workshop papers September 24, 2010 Camera-Ready copy of all accepted papers September 24, 2010 Early Registration October 1, 2010 Regular Registration Conference Organizing Committee Honorary Conference Co-Chairs Ruzena Bajcsy, University of California, Berkeley, USA Der-Tsai Lee, Academia Sinica, Taiwan Conference Co-Chairs Dick Bulterman, CWI, Amsterdam, The Netherlands Chin?Hui Lee, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA Wen?Hsiang Tsai, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan Mark Liao, Academia Sinica, Taiwan Program Co-Chairs Max Muhlhauser, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany Kuo-Chin Fan, National Central University, Taiwan Balakrishnan Prabhakaran, The University of Texas, Dallas, USA Timothy K. Shih, Asia University, Taiwan Workshop Co-Chairs Gerald Friedland, ICS Institute, Berkeley, USA Jin-Jang Leou, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan Mei-Ling Shyu, University of Miami, USA Stephen J. H. Yang, National Central University, Taiwan Panel Co-Chairs Shu-Ching Chen, Florida International University, USA Roger Zimmerman, National University of Singapore, Singapore Finance Co-Chairs Rong-Ming Chen, National University of Tainan, Taiwan Wen-Chung Shih, Asia University, Taiwan Publication and Registration Chair Han C. H. Hsiao, Asia University, Taiwan Local Arrangement Chair Anthony Y. H. Liao, Asia University, Taiwan Website Chair Chia-Cheng Liu, Asia University, Taiwan Publicity Co?Chairs Chengcui Zhang, The University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA Nam Ling, Santa Clara University, USA Yueting Zhuang, Zhejiang University, China Jean-Luc Dugelay, Institut EURECOM, France Jianhua Ma, Hosei University, Japan