International Worksho on Biometrics in the Wild 2017 Call for Papers

BWild 2017
International Worksho on Biometrics in the Wild 2017
Held in conjunction with IEEE FG 2017
May 30/June 3, 2017 (TBD)

The 2nd International Workshop on Biometrics in the Wild 2017 (BWild
2017) will be held in conjunction with a IEEE FG 2017 on May 30 or
June 3, 2017 (TBD) in Washington DC, USA. BWild 2017 builds on the
success of the 2015 Workshop on Biometrics in the Wild that was held
in conjunction with IEEE FG 2015.

** Call for Papers **
Research on biometric recognition has long been focused on recognition
from biometric data captured in ideal conditions. With recent advances
in computer vision and machine learning the research focus shifted
away from controlled laboratory conditions to unconstrained settings,
where the variability of the captured biometric data is significantly
higher and automatic recognition is a far more challenging task. Due
to the countless deployment possibilities in security applications,
surveillance, social media, consumer electronics or border control,
biometric recognition in unconstrained settings, nowadays often
referred to as »biometrics in the wild«, increasingly attracts
interest from universities, government agencies as well as private
companies, and represents a highly active area of research.

The goal of this workshop is to present the most recent and advanced
work related to biometric recognition in the wild and bring together
researchers and practitioners working on problems related to
unconstrained biometrics. Submitted papers should clearly demonstrate
improvements over the existing state-of-the-art and use the most
challenging datasets available. We are interested in all parts of
biometric systems ranging from detection/segmentation, landmark
localization, pre-processing, and feature extraction techniques to
modeling and classification approaches capable of operating on
biometric data captured in the wild. New methodologies, architectures
and studies related to deep learning and applied to problems related
to unconstrained biometrics are also welcome. Topics of interest
include (but are not limited to):

+ Biometric recognition in the wild (face, ear, gait, palms, iris, periocular…),
+ Biometric detection in the wild (face, eyes, ears, body, …),
+ Soft biometrics in the wild,
+ Context-aware techniques for biometric detection and recognition,
+ Landmark localization in the wild,
+ Robust machine learning for biometrics in the wild, 
+ Normalization techniques for recognition in the wild,
+ Multi-modal biometrics in the wild,
+ Novel databases and performance benchmarks,
+ Privacy protection and de-identification of biometric identifiers,
+ Spoofing of biometric systems,
+ Deep learning approaches for unconstrained biometric recognition,
+ Related applications.

** Date and Venue **
The workshop will be held in conjunction with the 12th International
Conference on Automatic Face and Gesture Recognition (IEEE FG 2017) in
Washington DC, USA on either May 30th or June 3rd, 2017 (TBD).

** Submissions **
The manuscripts should be submitted in PDF format and should be no
more than 8 pages in IEEE FG 2017 paper format. The submitted papers
should present original work not currently under review elsewhere and
should have no substantial overlap with already published
work. Accepted papers will be included in the Proceedings of IEEE FG
2017 & Workshops and will be sent for inclusion into the IEEE Xplore
digital library.

Papers submission deadline         27 January 2017
Notification to authors               3 March 2017
Camera ready papers due               8 March 2017
Workshop dates                   May 30/June3 2017 (TBD)

** Organizers ** 
Bir Bhanu 
Abdenour Hadid 
Qiang Ji 
Mark Nixon 
Vitomir Štruc 

** Program committee ** 
Ross Beveridge 
Terry Boult 
Kevin Bowyer 
Patrizio Campisi 
Rama Chellappa 
Xilin Chen 
Jean-Luc Dugelay 
Patrick Flynn 
Manuel Güthner 
Hu Han 
Gang Hua 
Ioannis A. Kakadiaris 
Josef Kittler 
Ajay Kumar 
Andreas Lanitis 
Jiwen Lu 
Karthik Nandakumar 
Vishal Patel 
Peter Peer 
Jonathon Phillips 
Matti Pietikäinen 
Norman Poh 
Arun Ross 
Sudeep Sarkar 
Walter Scheirer 
Tieniu Tan 
Massimo Tistarelli 
Andreas Uhl