Call for Papers

---------   Call for Papers ---------------
The 1st International Workshop on
Design, Deployment, and Evaluation of Network-assisted Video Streaming
ViSNext 2021 
Munich, Germany (Virtual Conference), December 6-10, 2021
Co-located with CoNEXT 2021 conference
In recent years, we have witnessed phenomenal growth in live video
traffic over the Internet, accelerated by the rise of novel video
streaming technologies, advancements in networking paradigms, and our
ability to generate, process, and display videos on heterogeneous
devices. Regarding the existing constraints and limitations in
different components on the video delivery path from the origin server
to clients, the network plays an essential role in boosting the
perceived Quality of Experience (QoE) by clients. The ViSNext workshop
aims to bring together researchers and developers working on all
aspects of video streaming, in particular network-assisted concepts
backed up by experimental evidence. We warmly invite submission of
original, previously unpublished papers addressing key issues in this
area, but not limited to:

    Design, analysis, and evaluation of network-assisted multimedia system architectures
    Optimization of edge, fog, and mobile edge computing for video streaming applications
    Optimization of caching policies/systems for video streaming applications
    Network-assisted resource allocation for video streaming
    Experience and lessons learned by deploying large-scale network-assisted video streaming
    Internet measurement and modeling for enhancing QoE in video streaming applications
    Design, analysis, and evaluation of network-assisted Adaptive Bitrate (ABR) streaming
    Network aspects in video streaming: cloud computing, virtualization techniques, network control, and management, including SDN, NFV, and network programmability
    Routing and traffic engineering in end-to-end video streaming
    Topics at the intersection of energy-efficient computing and networking for video streaming
    Network-assisted techniques for low-latency video streaming
    Machine learning for improving QoE in video streaming applications
    Machine learning for traffic engineering and congestion control for video streaming
    Solutions for improving streaming QoE for high-speed user mobility
    Analysis, modeling, and experimentation of DASH
    Big data analytics at the network edge to assess viewer experience of adaptive video
    Reproducible research in adaptive video streaming: datasets, evaluation methods, benchmarking, standardization efforts, open-source tools
    Novel use cases and applications in the area of adaptive video streaming
    Advanced network-based techniques for point clouds, light field, and immersive video
    Low delay and multipath video communication

Submission Instruction

    Solicited submissions include both full technical workshop papers and white paper position papers. The maximum length of such submissions is up to 6 pages (excluding references) in 2-column 10pt ACM format.
    Papers must include author names and affiliations for single-blind
    peer reviewing by the program committee. Authors of accepted
    submissions are expected to present and discuss their work at the
    workshop. Register and submit your paper here.
    Download CFP.
Important Dates

    Paper Submission: Sep. 17, 2021
    Notification of Acceptance: Oct. 18, 2021
    Camera-ready: Oct. 25, 2021
    Workshop Event: Dec. 6,  2021


     Farzad Tashtarian, Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Austria
     Tim Wauters, Ghent University, Belgium
     Halima Elbiaze, Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada
     Christian Timmerer, Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Austria

 Technical Program Committee

    Abdelhak Bentaleb, National University of Singapore, Singapore
    Ali C. Begen, Ozyegin University, Turkey
    A. Montazerolghaem, University of Isfahan, Iran
    Christian Timmerer, Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Austria
    Eckehard Steinbach, University of Technology Munich
    Filip De Turck, Ghent University, Belgium
    Gwendal Simon, Huawei Technologies
    Hadi Amirpourazarian, Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Austria
    Halima Elbiaze, Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada
    Hermann Hellwagner, Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Austria
    Jeroen van der Hooft, Ghent University, Belgium
    Jiangchuan (JC) LIU, Simon Fraser University, Canada
    Klara Nahrstedt, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    Lucia D’Acunto, TNO, Netherlands
    M.H. Yaghmaee, Ferdowsi University, Iran
    Mallesh Dasari, Stony Brook University, New York
    Mohamed Hefeeda, Simon Fraser University, Canada
    Mohsen Amini Salehi, University of Louisiana
    Müge Sayit, Ege University
    Peyman Mashhadi, Halmstad University, Sweden
    Roger Zimmermann, National University of Singapore, Singapore
    S. Reza Kamel, Azad Univerisity, Iran
    Serhan Gül, Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute
    Thomas Zinner, Norwegian university of science and technology
    Tim Wauters, Ghent University, Belgium

 Any questions regarding submission issues should be directed to